“I’ve gone down a pants size, but the scale says I’ve gained weight”: Here’s why…

Blake Conner
3 min readMay 19, 2019
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Many of my clients may have been in this scenario before and have been quite puzzled. You put in all of this effort, you feel good about your progress, but the scale reflects differently!

This frustrates many people and I get asked about this all the time during weigh-ins at work.

There is a slight attachment to the thought of the scale and numbers. Numbers are great and so are scales at telling us valuable data. However, at the end of the day it is just a tool to gauge SOME progress. It isn’t the end-all-be-all of what is happening to your body. Just like some measurements within a hospital, many times a value has come up that would normally hint to a problem, but instead is due to something good happening (this is just an abstract example, but it can happen).

People want to see that weight number go down. Lighter is better, less weight means I’m getting skinnier, etc.

It may not always happen this way though. Sometimes people come in to work with me, and end up gaining a little weight. They get frustrated with me, but I talk them down and help them understand. What they failed to notice was that they can barely fit into their pants anymore, due to the fact that they are literally falling off of them! They’ve gone down a pants…

--

--

Blake Conner

Ex-Fitness/Nutrition Coach turned Freelance Blog and Copywriter.